Poets logo

September 11 2021

Future homecoming with no home…

By Holly Allison-KayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

September 11 2021

my home destroyed

FIRE

there one moment

gone the next

HOME to many generations

our safe spot

our gathering place

one night has changed me

weakened me

broken me

I wait for the sun to rise

to open my eyes with hopes that it was a nightmare

but no

REALITY

it’s gone

it’s all just gone

charred fragments of memories

piles of debree

scortched trees

smell of chemical

I am just so sad

the tears flow like a river

I need to be strong

to move on and accept

the present

I am thankful

my family survived

no one died

no one got hurt

things can be replaced…lives cannot

It‘s a new day today

the sun has risen once again

I will get stronger

Day 10

the tears now flow less as each day passes

my HOME

is wherever I lay my head

and I am thankful

I am strong

I will persevere

I will not let this destroy me

Years from now I will look back

coming home

to this spot

this very spot

where we gathered

we hugged

we laughed

a HOMECOMING with no home

and I will have the memories

they will keep me strong

I will rise up from the ashes…

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Holly Allison-Kay

Proud mom of triplets, married to my knight in shining armour, loving life and literature!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.