Poets logo

Sepia (See-Pee-Uh)

Poetry

By Asya FieldsPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/574420127453716112/

His body absorbed the sun.

Millions of pores stretched across skin filling with light

- milk chocolate melting in 90 degree weather.

Pores strategically placed.

Rays scattered through his muscles reflecting off anything and anyone who tried to lay eyes on him.

Seeing him in all his glory- I bowed.

Some were blinded by his magnitude.

-God-like divinity.

Tremble and praise, or steady and condemn.

I only feared the journey of the unknown.

Touching the hands that may allow us to become clay for one another.

Touching the hands that may hold so much weight that it cannot do either.

I feared only knowing the reality is that he has chosen neither.

I allowed him to tread my name in dirty waters.

I allowed him to mock our connection as if it wasn’t built upon faith.

I allowed him to take time and realize the benefit of humility.

Chains being the only silver we share together.

We are no stranger to hard work.

With 29 plus years- or 60 plus years or 100 plus years.

Decades spent together, decades pulling us apart.

Lies placed in between us until we were planets apart.

Whipping the woman out of you.

How many lashes for being soft.

How many lashes for caring.

How many lashes for crying.

All the while you grew- humble and waiting.

Mirroring your deepest affections.

Mirroring the light you absorb

-woman dipped in honey.

They couldn’t handle my light

- the combination of you and I

A nightmare

- in day time.

You saw magnificence and strength and love become flesh of your flesh.

You saw me as your equal.

A part of you that you longed for

- your rib.

Two beings absorbing all positivity.

Absorbing all light.

Destined to show their destiny.

Grace and mercy in their eyes.

The voice that said after all the struggle,

After all the lies,

After all the confusion

- the constant cry of separation-

We have met in the middle.

We chose love every time- deep, honest, rich, black

Love

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Asya Fields

Hello! My name is Asya Fields also known as Rumination. I am a Georgia native that started writing at 16. I have found through writing that I can become a more complete version of myself with every word. Remember to repost!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.