Poets logo

Sensing

Constant reminders

By SamiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Sensing
Photo by Camille Brodard on Unsplash

I smell the fresh baked chocolate cupcakes and the sugary icing that will go on top. I smell your perfume, White Diamonds, mixing with the clear nail polish that you would put on your nails.

I can see the yellow forsythia bush blooming in the golden rays of sunlight streaming through the newly forming leaves of the maple tree. I see the ripples on the creek's surface as a fish jumped out to catch its meal. I see all the love your friends send in the mail.

I hear the splash as the fish makes contact with water. I hear the deer trampling the brush on the other side of the creek. I can hear the the splash of the water of the pool as I'm pulled back to the past.

I taste the chlorine of the water as you teach me to swim the first time. I taste the sweet meadow tea that you cut and brewed. I taste the the home cooking and how being with you made me feel free.

I run my fingers through your blanket that I still have. The fleece roughened by repeated washing. I feel the chill from your bracelet as it touches my skin

All those things remind me that even though you are not here with me. You are not gone.

sad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Sami

There are scenes that play out in my head that need an outlet. Is practical for real life, probably not, but to free space I have to put the virtual pen to paper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.