Poets logo

Senses Of Yesterday

The Mountains

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Senses Of Yesterday
Photo by Matt Gross on Unsplash

Thou shall not be a candle wick that burns.

That doesn't bring us light.

Echoes of the ocean linger

while I blow through my windpipe.

Tropical scents adore the ladies

of the night.

To watch the glorious sundown,

before I lay to rest.

Sucking softly on peppermint taffy,

better than the best.

Of days gone by, travelling to

the mountains of the west.

Sensational memories arise within my heart.

For the senses of yesterday will never be apart.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi-'C' ~ You give Good-Heart! Hope you check out comments re; Senior Link when VM Creators Chat comes up again. It would 'Groovy' to give the old note-passers a special way to pass-them - with their 'favorite' memories as well - we all have them. Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • I like this piece ❤️😉📝👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.