Poets logo

"Senses": A Spoken Word #WorthyVideo Post

Note: Originally published on the Worth a Read Too blog on October 27, 2020. Reposted due to website rebranding.

By Selys RiveraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Hey there #worthyreaders! I hope you're still hanging in there.

In case you don't know, I have started a Spoken Word series with poetry from my first chapbook, Rise in Love: A Poetry Chapbook (Revised Edition), which I published earlier this year on Amazon Kindle.

I just wanted to share some inspiration and hope right now because I've been feeling kind of down. I know y'all are too. So, I thought we could use a pick-me-up.

Last time I did a poem from the Life section because there are five sections. It's celebrating different kinds of love, right? So, there's You, Them, Life, God, and Me.

I did "Fish, Cheese, and Forty-Two," which I'll include a link somewhere in here too so you can see that if you haven't checked it out already.

Today I thought we'd do one from the God section. This one's called, "Senses," and I hope y'all like it.

I hear your voice in the river.

I see your race in the sunrise.

I smell your scent in grass slivers.

I feel your caress in wind highs.

And yet, what I love the most

and don't ever want to miss

is how you bring me close,

so I taste your joy in a kiss. (Rivera, 2020)

That's it for today! Follow me on the socials - Amazon, Facebook, Goodreads, Twitter - @SelysRivera.

If you have any comments or anything, please get back to me. I'd love to start chatting.

All right, guys. As always, stay worthy!

References

Rivera, S. (2020). Rise in Love: A Poetry Chapbook (Revised Edition). Worth a Read Too, LLC.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Selys Rivera

Selys Rivera is passionate about making the world a better place through her writing. In her free time, she is either reading, dancing, or playing with her dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.