Poets logo

Selfless

I keep waiting.

By AngeliquePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I don't know what I wait for

I waited in the past I wait even now

Will I be the one waiting even in the future

The tear drops from my hair begin to dry

The clock rotates 1 hour 2 hours 3 and more

My fluttering heart starts to retire

I'm still waiting, anticipating, thinking

But why do I always have to wait.

My perfume begins to fade

The wine stain on my lips starts to crumble

I'm still waiting, anticipating, thinking

When will they wait for me

My eyes run forward and back to my phone

My fingers impatient fighting seconds

And then.

Again of course like the last

I was waiting for disappointment

But even then I don't learn

And another one will intrude

And this vicious cycle begins again

So I wait...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Angelique

Freelance poet, i started writing poetry seriously 5 years ago and was featured in Uk national anthology 2016. I write to free my mind and soul. Random inspirations as well as experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.