Poets logo

Self Love

My love to my self

By Talia MPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Self Love
Photo by Amanda Jones on Unsplash

"Love thy self" as the saying goes but

What exactly does that look like

To most it's dressing up, spending time with friends

Doing a bunch of things to keep the smile painted

And while these are all forms of self love

Are they not only secondary?

Self-love is not always pretty and laughter

Some days its sleeping in, quietness

Why? because your soul whispers its needs

Of deep roots that need healing

Deep roots require a lot of work to break free

And while some days may be easier than others

The fight never leaves because

Through good and bad, sickness and health

Today, tomorrow, here, now and beyond

My love love for self is always and forever

the center of it all, first marriage of a life time

Good days, bad days but I make it through each

The best love

Self love isn't only confidence and power driven

sometimes its being brave enough to admit

that might be whats lacking

You know the honesty nobosy wants to hear

Self love is saying in a split moment when

my backs against the wall with no time to overthink

Well, I AM confidence, power, and strength

But outside of those moments I'm a nervous wreck lol

Honesty within self reflects true love for self

How can I love others in their truth

The essence that they fear the world to see

If I don't first love myself the same

Perfectly imperfect

Self love can look like a beautiful mess, abstract like art

Self love is a mirror of truth and the strides made

To corret the imperfections or enhance them if you dare

At least that's what it looks like to me

I dont want my love for slef to be molded

To social norms of what that is to be

I just want to be

Self love acknowledges your true nature

Saying today these are my needs and thats okay

And support yourself in the decision

I dont care what anyone else wants it to look like

Because it would not look like getting dolled up

If my life was totally out of order

Or perfecting my body to attract a man

That's not love for self thats love for attention

Right?

Self love is identifying expanding on what you need

What is a need for me? a craving for slef growth

Truth, realness, duality, openness, individuality,

creative freedom, freedom to Be, a connection with the Most High

authentic bonds, being vocal, emotions, knowledge,understanding

faith, perservance, passion and I can go on but

all of the things that are self-love, for me

reside within, stemming from self first

Plus I feel the most in love with myself with

wild curly hair, good music and bare skin

Its different for everyone

So love yourself the way your soul craves!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Talia M

I’m just a girl whose heart speaks through poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.