Poets logo

Self-Awareness

Put off Until the End

By Hannah E. AaronPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Self-Awareness
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Don't think about how this opening line lacks any

Imagistic or impressive properties. It is on the nose: a distraction,

Shorthand or a placeholder waiting to turn metaphorical. Is

This change to occur? I could try, of course, and take pleasant

Road-trips along the connections my brain affords me. For

An example: drafting the line as relating to procrastinators,

Circumventing blame or judgement through peaceful comparisons like

The last ice cube in a drink, waiting to somehow dissolve, granting me

In its miniscule, lingering existence amusement as it skates and

Orients itself around and around the meniscus's surface before, perhaps,

Needling activity. Yet, I'll forget to change the line (myself) for me or you.

social commentary
6

About the Creator

Hannah E. Aaron

Hello! I'm mostly a writer of fiction and poetry that tend to involve nature, family, and the idea of growth at the moment. Otherwise, I'm a reader, crafter, and full-time procrastinator!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    The old college joke of the double major: sex education with plenty of labs & procrastination but I haven't gotten around to starting it yet. Yours feels a bit more real.

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    Came here from Amanda’s article. Loved your take on this and totally relate 🫣😁

  • Amanda Starks6 months ago

    Hey! I just wanted to let you know I featured your piece in my article. <3 https://vocal.media/writers/fantastical-vocal-favorites-vol-1

  • Test11 months ago

    Have you ever tried to write in meter? You could do iambic pentameter…basically each line would be a study in a low syllable and accented syllable repeated five times a line. I haven’t written in iambs in years, yet there is lasting value in learning. It means basically looking up each word you use in the dictionary and seeing where the stress lay. Then you build your lines accordingly to the iambs.

  • Amanda Starks11 months ago

    Oh my gosh that opening line hooked me right away!! As a fellow procrastinator this resonated deeply. 😅

  • Nice take on the challenge. If you are on Facebook please join us in the Vocal Social Society

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.