Poets logo

Seething Red

Quietly Burning

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
9
Seething Red
Photo by Anna Popović on Unsplash

I almost killed my brother once. On purpose. Nearly choked him out in a fit of rage.

He deserved it, though – only because I couldn’t choke-out the persons who really deserved it – his loving enablers turning him into the slimy, lying, manipulating bastard he is to this day. Too bad, but good thing, the bus driver was there. It would have been a horrible reality to live with.

Maybe I was in Junior High – no, maybe a freshman in high school. Maybe older. Time weaved with trauma has a way of distorting. It was after he had committed an unspeakable act and put me in a very compromising position, and he mentally hurt a lot of people. Or maybe it was me who hurt a lot of people. His actions brought back repressed memories of my own past trauma that I needed to understand and deal with.

He was taunting me from the green seats of the school bus. I swooped in and clamped my hands around his throat, laying him out on the bench seat in a flash of red I don’t even remember.

This is what happens when an already damaged girl is coerced to hold in a scream.

Prosefact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
9

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.