Poets logo

Seeking Clarity

Helplessly lost in a fathomless rewind.

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Victoria Model via Pixabay.

I still find myself lost back in time.

Helpless to stop the perpetual rewind.

Always searching for some clarity.

Hoping some new answers will appear to me.

I'm stuck in this loop, deep inside my mind.

Is it really possible that I'll heal with time?

.

So many questions you've dodged

Mistruths conveniently sprinkled all about.

Dug down so deep beneath your charade.

I was so overwhelmed and distraught.

All you could do was scream and shout

While I swayed upon my feet,

Horror struck by what I'd revealed behind your deceptive shade.

.

Those manipulations temporarily cloaked all that you are.

Now I've ripped off the Band-Aid,

Knowing that this will surely scar.

For a wound so severe that it nearly takes your life?

Well, it's not one that will heal with medication and sleep.

No, not in this instance.

You've cut me far too deep.

.

I'm bracing for the impact

After revealing your true colors.

Reeling from the reality of what you are

Versus who I'd believed you to be.

Talk about a mind-blowing discrepancy.

.

Might as well have cemented my feet to your anchor

Since you insist on keeping me down.

Left me lying there, watching as I drown.

Without any thought for any other

You could not care less if our children were torn from their mother.

.

Yet when the mood strikes you,

You're the one that will smother.

You'd hardly let me breathe.

Not out of love or genuine devotion.

Only to prevent me from ever finding another

That's why you still kept me dangling there upon your toxic tether.

. . .

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

Photo Credit: Victoria Model

This poem was originally published on Medium:

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.