Poets logo

See me for what I am

Never shy away

By Quentin woodardPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
See me for what I am
Photo by Amanda Jones on Unsplash

I never want you to see the ugly side of life

nor do I ever want you to have to defend yourself

But sometimes things are unavoidable

That's when the world will reveal itself to you

If you two so happen to meet evil along your journey

just know that fear is perfectly normal

that things aren't always rainbows and unicorns

but there is still beauty to be found even in your darkest hour

Know that I will do all I can to prepare you

That I will challenge all things in your path

Whether it be a bug on the wall

or the shadows in the dark I am here

When it seems as though daddy is lashing out

trying to create peace in a violent state

This is all to keep you safe and those you love around you

I am your sharpest edge

You may not understand fully what you have seen

you may think that I am out of my mind

but just know that I am your shield

and I will take all abuse so you don't have to

Never fear me but hold my heart close

Never shy away from me but hug me harder

because just as much as you need me

I have always needed you

So I hope that from whatever you witness from me

Good or bad learn from all that you see

know when to act and when to hold your ground

because one day you will be tested

So just remember I never wanted you to see the ugly side of life

nor did I ever want you to have to defend yourself

But sometimes things will be unavoidable

That's when you reveal yourself to the world

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Quentin woodard

I am the Poetic Lyricist. I am a Poet, father of twins, and Husband to a loving Wife. My words come from my experiences, some from inspiration, and more from what I see on a daily. Welcome to me and be inspired. IG:poeticlyricist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.