Poets logo

SECOND WIND

A Personal Haiku

By Gail Allyson KingPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
SECOND WIND
Photo by Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells on Unsplash

The alarm goes off.

It’s six a.m.; ‘tis early -

But that’s my habit.

I lie there, awake,

Savoring my warm blanket

Before I get up.

I need to drive her

Up to Cleveland Clinic, now;

Bracing for the drive.

Ninety minutes fly.

With traffic speeding by us,

We arrive in time.

Exhausted, we leave.

The long drive home seems shorter

Then the one going.

Home, it’s supper time.

I reach inside the freezer

For that prepared meal.

Dinner is now over.

Dishes and clean-up are done.

Pajamas sound great.

I think about it -

My day – how it went for us.

I’m glad it’s over.

I thank the good Lord

That, at least once during my day,

A “second wind” blew.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Gail Allyson King

I believe, by the grace of God, you can accomplish anything you set your mind to. My mantra: "If it's going to be, it's up to me." My motto: "Carpe Diem" - every single day. Fav saying: "Do or don't do; there is no try." (thank you, Yoda).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.