Poets logo

''SECOND NOT FIRST''

GREATEST FEAR I HAD

By MissclickedPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
13
''SECOND NOT FIRST''
Photo by Joshua Golde on Unsplash

It's two in the PM, when the school bell rings

with almost a bag full, and all my other things

a bottle thirsty, a lunchbox hungry;

little footsteps towards my home

another bell this time, finally ahome

a cheerful lady soon comes by

''How was your day? what about your results today?

the day was fine and a silent display

all my favorites in my plate

for she had waited for this date

slowly moving hands and spoon

like its some distance to the moon

''dad asked for your regards"

you know he's working so hard

''we both wish you secure the first place''

i wish she noticed my pale face

''so where is it, show me now?''

but the ashamed child didn't knew how

with half a heart, mind trembling apart

i presented the test chart

second place it said, within seconds she read

my biggest fear on a piece of paper

for a 12 year old something deeper

patting my head she said

''second is my lucky number i guess

i'll love you the same nevertheless!

this doesn't makes you less of mine

don't cry love, there's still some dessert in line!''

WRITER'S NOTE: heyaaa! everyone, its my first time participating in a challenge and this one is by Real poetic called ''Greatest fear". Growing up always winning made me think high of myself and my biggest fear that is not being the first place or being ''SECOND NOT FIRST''. So this poetic piece was all about how i got over my biggest fear in life (according to 12 year old me) with the support of my family (specially my mom i love her to the moon and back). Have a great day!

sad poetrysurreal poetryinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Missclicked

Hey fella! welcome to my blog or you could say a little window into my thoughts. Here I will be writing about various topics like, life experiences, short fictions, poems and sometimes a little insights to my life. I hope we all get along!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • EYHCS9 months ago

    Cute, I like the idea of finding the good in being 2nd as it was her lucking number, because being first doesn't make you the best - always!

  • Denise E Lindquist10 months ago

    I enjoyed your poem! I don't know when it happened for me. Thank you😊💕

  • Eshita Bhati10 months ago

    When a child is an achiever, the expectations of a parent always rises. And this is what, I feel, makes us like the child you described. I appreciate your writing and the way simple you have represented this fear. Keep it up Babe! ❤🤗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.