Poets logo

Second Chance

When you have no more

By Joe PattersonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Second Chance
Photo by Kato Blackmore 🇺🇦 on Unsplash

Take a look at my life. Something important of which I hardly ever glance.

If you trace the path I have been on forever you’ll see that I am great at squandering a second chance.

For me, a second chance was just another excuse to have more foolish fun and when it ends I always ask myself “what have you done?”

On the road to achieving what was meant for me, I sabotage my second chances and then look for sympathy.

When vanity comes to enter me I always let it into me and end up being my second chance’s worse enemy.

I wish I knew why I was like this and why can’t I fight this? My lack of restraint has my second chances in a tight grip.

I claim to never want to lose, but then I jeapordize my second chance, ensuring that I’m going to lose.

Whenever I am given one more try I tell one more lie. A failed effort of poor choice that ruins my second chances and always leads to one more cry.

I grow weary of the self inflicted pain I juggle from destroying a second chance and hitting the reset button on struggle.

When second chances come around I want to use them the right way and no longer give them the run around.

I want to look at my life with a better glance, a forever glance in which I promise to never again destroy my shot at a second chance.

heartbreakslam poetrysad poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Hearted , Very awesome 👏

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Ah, this felt very honest and raw. I could identify with so many lines. A second chance can be rare indeed. Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.