Poets logo

Sea Idyll

or, The Protean Shepherd

By Abby SiegelPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo from Unsplash

lay me down to rest

in the lea of the lapping waves

covered overhead by the cove

cave of the sealy shepherd

ever-changing shapes

with the tide

I will plow in Proteus’ pasture

a spirit of the spewing foam

facing the open field of the sea

unalone supervised by sunsets

ever-changing sights upon the shore

do I tend forevermore the lost

the washed-up come to be shepherded

back to the course of a trek

toward eventuality’s swell

eventuality has come to me in

the strong arms of the shore-comber

his own eventuality comes

in the crashing waves that made

Atlantis harvest kelp for no reason

other than to continue remembering

I don’t need to remember

resting in the lapping waves

alive in a place almost forgotten

in the cove of the seal-herd

loving lolling in the lull of his arms

before losing the vast fields

to waves of memory

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Abby Siegel

Currently a grad student in classics researching Latin poetry as well as myth and folklore. I write poetry most of the time, and I am working on my first poetry collection. I also write book reviews and other blog pieces.

Buy me a coffee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.