Poets logo

Screaming Out, Where Is She

A Short Poem

By Jasmine CrabtreePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Screaming Out, Where Is She
Photo by Gage Walker on Unsplash

Laying in the darkness

These thoughts of you I dread

Can’t you see the likeness

Of the monsters in my head?

I’m listening to the voices

They never go away

I’m sick of all these choices

From you I’d never stray.

My heart is torn to pieces

I swear I always try

To rid me of these creases

For you I always cry.

I’m screaming out where are you

To the girl I left behind

When I said that I did too

I hoped you wouldn’t mind.

All these personalities

They’re ripping me to pieces

Why can’t they just set me free

Just get out of my head.

I’m tired of all these voices

From them I cannot hide

But they won’t make my choices

I’ll scream until I’ve cried.

They’re screaming out where is she

The monsters deep inside

They keep trying to find me

So they don’t have to hide.

I’m fighting all these battles

They’re deep inside my head

And if I could undo them

These demons would be dead.

But here I am an open door

My privacy no longer listening

My thoughts are free just for the world

I hope they’re really glistening.

All the time I scream and shout

I feel I’m finally drowning

In a hateful sea so full of doubt

The queen they’re finally crowning.

Can’t you see inside me?

Can you feel my hurt, my pain?

Cause honestly I’m crying

Can’t you please tell me my name.

Cause obviously you know me

Better than I know myself

If I could reach inside my head

Maybe she would find her shelf.

Crying in the corner

Hiding from the pain

Turn it off I scream

Louder than I’ve screamed my name.

I’m shouting

Aren’t you listening?

You idiot I doubt

Myself because I’m worthless

Yet I still scream and shout.

Please just flip the light switch

It’s easy

Can’t you see?

Maybe one day you’ll get it

When you finally see inside of me.

The girl who on the outside is always full of doubt

Can’t fight her demons within but still she’ll scream and shout.

Maybe one day you’ll understand

Maybe it won’t be so hard

For you to lend a helping hand

Here, take my card.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Crabtree

Just a writer looking to share some stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.