Poets logo

School - It Makes You Think

A view from my children on Covid 19 & School

By J W NelsonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Learning from home is the new school?

I won't bore with too the details that you already know about and have had to endure over the last 18 months. Some have feared better than others, across the board, is so many different ways.

More so with our children. Adaptable many will say as they don't know any other way. They roll with it (and that is also due to us as parents guiding them, taking any 'weight' off them to allow this freedom and flexibility). I honestly think we won't know the full impact on our children for some time. The gaps missed. The turmoil of working and teaching from home. Missing that all important friendships and contact.

For my children, this was something they mentioned to me several times as we journeyed through this turbulent period. So I put some words together in a poetic prose, to attempt to convey what they and many other children, probably felt about schooling during the unusual, testing time. What do your children think about school now, compared to when they couldn't go? It does make you think...

When I think of going to school

I think about not breaking any rules

To think of things that are nice and good

I do think about my school: my neighbourhood

To think of all our teachers that help

We should think & behave; so there’s no need to yelp

Thoughts of playing with our friends

Thinking of a time when we can meet again

Thinking today of our school year

Thinking of my parents worries and fears

I can think that soon this time will end

I can think of home schooling: that email to send

Thinking of what I really long for

Thinking; I really want to learn more

Thinking of the laughing and squealing

Thinking; how is everyone feeling?

Thinking of getting back to my school

Thinking of all the things that make it cool

I think I like the reading and numbers best

I think I we will all pass this test

I do think that we will find time

I’m thinking this as I write this rhyme

I think my thoughts won’t put you on the brink

I just know how School makes me think...

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

J W Nelson

Since 11 years old I have written novels, songs, poems, inspired Hitchcock, to Desperate Housewives, to The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.

I have a self-published full-length fictional novel on Amazon called Company of Fools.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.