Poets logo

School Days

Mikeydred's May 2023 Poetic Challenge In The Vocal Social Society- Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
8

This is a series of short sonnets based on suggestions by Vocal friends in the Vocal Social Society. I will include a suitable video as well.

The challenge is:

β€œGive me a subject and five words and I will try and create a sonnet”.

This is from Heather Hubler:

Subject: School Days

Words: Learn, Books, School Crush, Paper

πŸ”€πŸ“šβœ’οΈβœοΈπŸ§ΎπŸ¦‰πŸ•’πŸ“–πŸ–‹οΈβœοΈπŸ” 

What Did You Learn On Your First Day?

And Did You See Your First School Crush

Reading Books and Some Paper Play

Then Afterwards On The School Bus

βœ’οΈ

Books Full Of Favorite Stories

Learn Facts For Your Exam Paper

Wondering Who Your Friend's Crush Is

Then Homework You Must Do Later

βœ’οΈ

Such A Drag To Get Out Of Bed

Homework Sucks, Want to Stay At Home

If You Don't Go Mom Will See Red

So Off You Go, You Musn't Moan

βœ’οΈ

So Now Ring Ring Goes The School Bell

You're In Educational Hell!!

πŸ”€πŸ“šβœ’οΈβœοΈπŸ§ΎπŸ¦‰πŸ•’πŸ“–πŸ–‹οΈβœοΈπŸ” 

social commentaryslam poetryperformance poetry
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Celia β™₯

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Deasun T. Smyth11 months ago

    Nice writing, but I've always enjoyed school (I'm home schooled). And I love learning new stuff.

  • Kelsey Clarey11 months ago

    Well done!

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Nice one!

  • Great job β€οΈπŸ’―β—

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Ah, school hell was more the social aspect for me, but I loved learning and still do :) You did amazing at this!! I can't believe you can come up with this stuff so quickly and do it well. Thank you, I loved it!!

  • Admittedly, I have difficulty relating to "school hell". I always loved school. The only thing I didn't like was having to get up so early in the morning & having to go to bed so early in the evening.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.