Poets logo

Scarves

Woven in is Guilt

By Austin Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Scarves
Photo by Joseph Frank on Unsplash

Scarves look comfortable,

So does guilt

Warmth looks appealing

Especially when it's felt

The cold hurts your skin

But guilt isn't always a sin.

This scarf coils around me, getting longer by the day.

It's choking my neck, dragging from behind, but no matter what I say... the lump won't go away.

It took a couple experiences to learn.

Every person you meet wears their own scarf.

No matter the conditions, the fabric will burn

for you see, woven in the intricate details

is a story of regret and shame.

It reminds you of where you were and who you became

Nameless

Why are the most important issues never addressed?

Why do we allow people to talk about what we should do with our scarves?

They're either too easy or too harsh

I apologize if I come across bitter, it's not my voice, it's the voice of guilt

The horrid emotion making flowers wilt

Tell me,

How could I wear a scarf too tight?

And seek validation from people who never liked me?

But at night...

That's when the scarf is useful.

It's warm. It's soft. It comforts me.

It reminds me.

You're human. "It's okay."

Humans still wear scarves. It can protect and also suffocate, it can make us feel awful or great.

Woven in the fabric is all of our secrets, our stories, our experiences.

It reminds us we're breathing and this is life. It reminds us that we have meaning outside of this strife.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Austin

I'm only a human-being, making it by in my career and mending the seams of my personal life. I want to polish talent and share the flow and process behind my creative juices.

You may learn more about me in my articles and fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.