Poets logo

say

(my name)

By Sara Published 7 months ago 1 min read
5
say
Photo by Caleb Ekeroth on Unsplash

when you say my

name

i forget it is

mine

and i swallow

all the lies

you feed me.

it tastes so sweet.

it takes so little.

you just have to breathe

smile

put your thumb on

my lips

and every semblance

of reason

escapes my body

like the air I exhale.

what do you do to me?

your indifference

keeps me up in the night

and your hand

grasps my throat

even when you are

not there.

i see you everywhere.

in the sunrise

and glittering stars

in the waves of the ocean

and sand on the shore.

you will never love me.

but that doesn’t stop

my heart

from wanting

you to.

heartbreaklove poems
5

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    So heartbreaking and relatable! Loved your poem!

  • Mattie :)7 months ago

    Aw so good, Sara! Love this!

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Simple, direct, and perfect. Perfect 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.