Poets logo

Save Yourself!

If there's a God, then Why?

By Ángel SierraPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Brown arm of a woman touching tall grass, just a peek of her black floral dress in shot.

I told you that I changed,

But you didn't believe me.

Believe me when I say

I'm not the same.

I will go to space and back to...

Tell you just how strange,

Here, this place is.

Might not love it, but it's great.

Earth will become dust,

And all my letters framed as words

Won't matter when it all evaporates.

God, save the Queen

No, save the children,

And rue the day.

Rule the world...

That was yesterday.

Today I wanna be invisible.

I wanna be the sweet whisper...

That puts your head back on your pillow.

'Cause dreams are better outside the window,

And you'll look up and remember...

How it felt to be prisoner.

Little one, bursting from your big kid clothes;

Finding it harder to touch your toes;

Itching fingers on the grass;

You can leave and you can dance.

Tap the—tap the—tap the glass!

Break it, break it, break your mother's back...

If she's stepping in your way.

See, these people have to find their own path.

Have to take our own bath.

Have to clean our own tracks.

Don't get in my way.

...

I told you that I changed.

You didn't believe me,

So now believe it.

Somehow we're still the same...

After it all.

All that I do and say.

...

Earth will become dust...

...

God, save the children.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalart
1

About the Creator

Ángel Sierra

Rhymes, riddles, and occasionally, she giggles.

Every-writer, it's all in me... DO LOOK DOWN!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.