Poets logo

Save my life

Who can change a life?

By D-DonohoePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Save my life
Photo by Hannah Hancock on Unsplash

Alone, depressed, anxiety high,

I started to picture ways I could die.

The feelings of total, utter despair,

With a heart so broken, beyond all repair.

Whatever could take me away from this place?

Would anyone miss the sight of my face?

I went for a stroll down by the water,

when I met an old man and his beautiful daughter.

His name was Max, hers Pauline.

The most beautiful woman I ever have seen.

“You seem quite happy to be at this place”

Max remarked of the smile on my face.

Pauline had beautiful long auburn hair,

When she spoke, it was with compassion and care.

The three of us walked by the river that day,

I found my bad feelings flying away.

I fell for her there in the beat of a heart

That chance river meeting was only the start.

In years to come she became my wife.

That auburn beauty who saved my life.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

D-Donohoe

Amateur storyteller, LEGO fanatic, leader, ex-Detective and human. All sorts of stories: some funny, some sad, some a little risqué all of them told from the heart.

Thank you all for your support.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.