Poets logo

saturday poetry

reflections

By Lauren (she/they)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
saturday poetry
Photo by Chris J. Davis on Unsplash

Kind of confusing

The feelings I have around my gender

When I’m out, I know most will perceive me as a woman, and treat me like one.

I hope for respect in those interactions; safety

to be seen as more

that the people that see me don’t accidentally see me as “less than”

because I was assigned female at birth

Weird to say it that way

Maybe that’s why I hope for more

She / they

More

Maybe some will see me for my eyes

See some spark of familiarity

Welcoming face welcoming presence

That’s what I hope for

Some perceive that to be motherly

I wouldn’t mind that if I felt like a woman but

Parental doesn’t sound right either

Just warm. That’s what I’m going for

Comfortable comforting

Or maybe just being.

Feeling feminine feels intimate

Like something I’m not quite comfortable with

With just anyone.

See? Hard to explain

I want to feel like a woman around some people

Some people make me want to run from womanhood!

Can you imagine why that would be?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Lauren (she/they)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.