Poets logo

Sassy, red, orange, blue—-

Last look

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Sassy, red, orange, blue—-
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

I can do many things,

And never make a sound.

I can throw hundreds of pounds on my back

And pretend that I am not feeling my bones crunch, and muscles sprain under such pressure,

Because

Beautiful, sassy, sun

I got a last look at you.

I remember how each step of my aching heart would pulse old, putrid, acrid, ill-gotten blood from bad veins,

And the oxygen would crease into my chest,

Like a soft smoke curling from a deep, dark raven’s

Cry,

I read my messages of hope surging in my stories, not ever believing

Once upon a time was for me.

I also knew my own reflection,

But slowly it morphed into a murky, dark well

Of silent, wrenching pain

And black & blue baby tears that sunk into the shallow earth

Tumbling like mist from a mountain.

I have carried loads from many hills, up, up and down

That look like fried green grief,

And burnt up toast crumbled on my face,

I have no sense of pride of my clothes,

Cloth is grieving like a tortuous wrap

Around my curves,

Which I love,

But I want to be tall, tall, strong

As strong as I’ve had to feel,

As worthy as I assumed I am,

To show it to bright young sons of life and hope, Jewish and cheeks full of blood

And dreams.

Recurring a dream once,

Of bright sunshine

And a stream,

Of whipping grass,

Of drinking in laughs,

of one last

Look,

Of being myself in a rush of cloth that finally fits me right,

And how I can no longer keep sinking into the woods behind the old house,

The stream so shallow yet deep,

Of melancholy and warm This is

Only

A

Dream

heartbreakperformance poetry
2

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.