Poets logo

Sapphire Tea

No love lives here.

By Ivy RozenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Pour me some tea, babe, I love the reflections

I miss the swirling whirlpool that once held our affections

Rosy glazed, glassy eyed

When I died, “Well I tried.”

Feckless boy, useless attempts

I’ll play coy if you pay the rent

Sleepin’ on my couch, run his fingers up my thigh

No love lives here, just you and I

And I feel so blue, oh my sapphire hues

I only wanted you, “Please just tell me what to do.”

Then condensed oxygen clogs up my lungs

When he won’t look at me, feels like we are done

We tried, we tried, we tried

But that’s no match for a lie

Love’s no match in my eyes

To light the candle we despise

I dropped the matchbox in the tea

‘Cause I wanted you gone, but I want you with me

Please don’t go, “Please don’t cry,”

There’s no use in asking why

I loved your soul, you loved my eyes

But love’s no match, at least we tried

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Rozen

Writer and poet with published articles, email campaigning experience, teaching experience, and a completed poetry residency with Free Verse, where I finished my first book of poems, Runcation, on sale now at www.IvanaWrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.