Poets logo

Sandglass (or So I Think)

"Time slips through my fingers like sand..."

By Hector CastanedaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
You feel the tension of change, anticipating it like a forthcoming ocean.

Now all my life swelling together,

Waiting for the perfect moment to just condense in its immensity and explode.

I can feel the air of the tides of change coming; this time I know they're coming.

The tides of change.

It will be yet another rebirth, another life displaced into foreign lands for me to explore with nostalgia and wonder.

Fly away from the cage I'll try to escape, into a much bigger one, or so I think...

Time slips through my fingers like sand; I know the past will be something I never knew I had.

Time.

The future will become reality and present, and the cycle will repeat until my final breath.

There's going to be so many goodbyes, so many tears when the moment of joy finally arrives, because we fear what's already changing and done.

Graduation, contemplation.

So many things I did and didn't do, so much I have yet to do.

Clouds swelling with rain and I fear losing the sun.

It comes bright and out again, and I grow afraid of the next disaster to strike.

I think I'm still tasting the bites of the fruits of life and knowledge.

"From any tree of the garden you may eat freely; but from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil you shall not eat, for in the day that you eat from it you will surely die." Genesis 2:16-17

In feeling lost I just try to feel.

To ground myself in my own thoughts, in my roots and atmosphere as a plant does with sunlight.

This here is not a dark night with the full moon and stars, turned a cloud-decorated blue bright sunny day with the crack of dawn.

As the change comes, I know I can only enjoy what I have left and let myself cry later on.

As the sands of time continue to slip, I see myself as a sun on the horizon, not knowing if I'm conducting a sunset or sunrise.

Sunset, sunrise? Who knows.

But still, challenging fear and joy to step forward and find out...

- DOG DAYS ARE OVER

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hector Castaneda

Musician. Writer. Poet. Adventurer. Thinker. Jack of all trades, master of none.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.