Poets logo

Sandcastles

Every grain counts

By J. R. LowePublished 11 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
14
Sandcastles
Photo by Jens Aber on Unsplash

Do you ever wonder

If you recovered all the precious

Seconds made of sand that were

Thrown to the breeze in fleeting moments, you’d have enough to build a castle?

Reaching for daydreams cost the gates,

Assaulting wallets with adventures cost the hall,

Chasing curiosity caused

The battlements to fall. But still, did you let those grains escape

In moments of mislead attention, for you knew:

Once the final grain was spent, in place of castle walls, there'd be a beach of moments to admire knowing you

Never wasted them at all

?

nature poetryinspirational
14

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Wonderful!!! Loved this one too!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    I love the depth and abstract feel of this piece! The use of metaphor and vivid imagery takes the reader to another place where we get to collect all that "wasted" or "lost" time. It feels whimsical and enchanting, the idea of making up lost time and it all building up to be something more. I personally don't believe in lost or wasted time. I think everything happens for a reason, there's no rush to "hurry up and wait". You get to where you're supposed to be, when you are supposed to be there. To me a thing called fate is what comes into play when I think of lost time... I missed my train so I could sit next to a handsome man and build a connection that turns to love. I went for a walk that lasted longer than I intended but found inspiration for great story along the way... Time isn't tangible, it's fluid and carried us down the river of possibilities as long as you're willing to go for the ride! My thoughts on the concept anyway...

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Oh this is GOOD! I hope it gets Top Story. Such great imagery. 😁

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    This is so close to pure beauty it's not funny. I'm so impressed - I love it!

  • Brilliant use of imageries! Such a beautifully written poem!

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    I might have to read this a few times. Beautifully put together and deep.

  • This is a fresh and resounding inspiration❤️📝Great writing💯❗

  • Ash Taylor11 months ago

    Oh this is gorgeous, I loved reading it! Wonderful theme and use of imagery.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This...this is so good. Very philisophical and sublimely penned! Great entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.