Poets logo

Sand

For Paul's "Most Favourite and Least Favourite Words Poetry Challenge"

By Matthew FrommPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
19
Sand
Photo by Camille Minouflet on Unsplash

Sand

I hear some people hate it

It’s coarse

It’s rough

It gets everywhere

In between your toes,

And in your sheets

Gritty

Pervasive

I get it, but

I don’t mind it

A remnant of an adventure

Of a story perhaps untold

Even if it's a sad story

I’d rather see it unfold

Even if I should try

I could never despise

Something that brings to others

A possible sense of joy

No,

If there is a collection of letters

I am to despise

It is failure

And its dreadful deride

Even its cadence sings

A horrid minor key

“A lack of success”

Who decreed this?

I took a hundred classes

Passed a thousand tests

But the one I failed

Taught me more than the rest

So let’s stop painting failure

As a land of boiled bones

To be avoided and shunned

And embrace it as

The greatest teacher of all

Ohh,

And Paul

I almost forgot

Since you asked nicely,

I’ll offer up

without comment, mind,

That my favorite word

Is Snollygoster

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N

Written for Paul's "Most Favourite and Least Favourite Words Poetry Challenge"

details here:

If you've enjoyed this, please leave a like and an insight below. If you really enjoyed this, tips to fuel my coffee addiction are always appreciated. All formatting is designed for desktops. All my works can be found below:

inspirational
19

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Patrick M. Ohanaabout a month ago

    There are several words I hate the most, but ma favourite word is pussy : )

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    I LOVED THE STAR WARS REFERENCE!! The whole poem was fantastic and the ending was great!

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    Beautiful poem, Matthew! Snollygoster is a new one for me. Off to look it up now!

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Nice free form, and I agree with you about failure. For some reason, Snollygoster reminds me of gobstoppers or something Willy Wonka would call someone lol.

  • Very clever... I love the beach, so sand gets my tick of approval. 'Snollygoster' entered our home for the first time!

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Ooh, love this! Snollygoster is indeed a beautiful word for a not so beautiful person. My favorite kind of word-collection. ;D I really like your take on the words. More the manifestation of the word that you like or hate, rather than the word itself or how it sounds/looks.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Well done, I have no idea what Snollygoster means but you did a great job with writing this.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I don't know what SNOLLYGOSTER means, but I love it already! Thank you for adding it to my life 😁

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Great poem Matthew! I only hate sand when it’s hot as hell outside, but failure?! Yeah i usually hate that, unless it’s teaching me something.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is beautiful. And I absolutely LOVE snollygoster. lol. What a great word.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Snollygoster hahahahahahaha. Thank you for teaching me a new word. Love it and this poem was stunning, my friend. Failure is a bad word, but one we can learn from, sand is cool though, and I love the Star Wars references (of course) lol. Thank you for entering and offering up this mighty fine work for my little challenge! :) Adding it to the post now!

  • Oooo, snollygoster! I learned a new word today! Also, land of boiled bones, I really loved that. Your poem was awesome!

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Nice....My son hates the sand and dwe live on the west coast. I like you word

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Spectacular sand poem!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Test5 months ago

    Such interesting choices. Love 'Snollygoster' sums up so much, so aptly. Failure is such a funny one. If you learn from it can it ever be as it says on the tin? Really well done 🤍

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Let me start off by taking my turn at being "that guy" and saying, check the definitions of "course" and "coarse." Other than that, I think "failure" is too important a word to despise. You said it yourself in this, it's how the word is interpreted and acted upon, no? A great entry for Paul's challenge, regardless!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I love this, the generosity holds through both the sand and the failure, so what I take away is something vivacious.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.