Poets logo

Salve

How we break

By Rowan Finley Published 7 months ago 1 min read
1
Photo taken by Victor on pixels.com

Holidays and birthday parties,

they remind me of how broken my family is.

Ever since I was little,

I wanted to be like my brothers.

They were athletic and confident,

I was neither of those things.

They grew up and had families,

I grew up and had a family for awhile,

until it busted,

and now I feel disgusted.

Trying to not let the pain lead to sin,

even though sometimes sin is a salve,

for a few minutes anyhow.

Sometimes the sweetest guys,

break the best.

Sometimes I wonder…

How did I get here?

How did I get here?

- - -

heartbreaksad poetry
1

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.