Poets logo

Safe Space

Meet Me in my Dreams

By Annie Edwards Published 4 months ago 1 min read
6
Safe Space
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

Wake me from this nightmare, and meet me in my dreams.

My chaotic world isn’t as bad as it seems

when compared to that of a masked reality.

Reality?

More like virtual reality.

A futuristic simulation so realistic, you’d swear it was actually real.

But, is it?

What is real?

This quest can leave one depleted,

while unanswered questions can leave one defeated.

And the reality of it is, I am no exception. Or am I?

To be honest, I’m tired of this debate (or from it?),

💤 So away to dreamland I drift, 💤

Because my worst nightmares don’t even begin to shine a light on the horrid morbidity

existing in this so-called reality.

Wake me from this nightmare, and meet me in my dreams.

My chaotic world isn’t as bad as it seems

when compared to that of a masked reality.

We no longer know anything for sure…

When did TRUTH become so obscure?

A murky swamp to tirelessly sludge through?

I’d much rather be “lost in my own world,” versus that of society.

My world is a beautifully artistic depiction

of the actual subjectiveness of fact versus fiction.

This world, on the other hand, reeks of hate, deceit, and friction.

It is merely a distorted perception,

meticulously masked, yet full of deception.

It is a well lit fire,

drawing us closer by the allure of its warmth…it’s comfort…it’s magical glow

But just remember,

becoming too captivated over the beauty of a gas lit glow

can blind us from seeing what we need to know…

🔥Don’t play with fire, or you’re sure to get burned.🔥

So,

Wake me from this nightmare, and meet me in my dreams.

My chaotic world isn’t as bad as it seems

when compared to that of a masked reality.

Tell me again…

What IS reality?

Is it merely a futuristic simulation; a cleverly disguised manipulation?

Can truth merely exist without a stipulation?

Or was that part all in my head?

Wake me from this nightmare, then meet me in my dreams.

My chaotic world isn’t as bad as it seems

when compared to that of a masked reality.

Because for once, my mind feels safe…

Mental Healthsurreal poetrysocial commentaryart
6

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    And that's why I love sleep so much. Because it helps me to escape the nightmare of a reality that we live in. Your poem was so profound, thought provoking and powerful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.