Poets logo

Wish upon a star

Waiting lightyears

By Annie Edwards Published 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
30

And as I wish upon this star,

Waiting for my fairytale …my dream life…my sense of happiness and fulfillment …

Impatiently waiting…

I find myself wondering what is taking so long.

Perhaps it is because this star I have wished upon is light years away, yet I somehow expect the laws of physics to defy themselves for me.

Why are we told to ‘wish upon a star’?

It gives us something upon which to place our wildest dreams.

Just as the mass, light, and impact of the star are beyond our comprehension…

so is our ultimate potential

so is our final destination…

so is our dream life.

But our dreams are meant to be our adventure…

composed of small moments meant to be travelled and enjoyed.

After all, a destination is merely a place if we fail to enjoy the ride…

A life of purpose does not mean that purpose has to be found in everything. It merely has to be FOUND…

in the right things…

at the right time…

and in the right order…

And as I wish upon this star,

Waiting for my fairytale …my dream life…my sense of happiness and fulfillment…

I finally begin to see this wish for what it is.

✨ The star’s beautiful, beaming light, can navigate me on my intended life journey…It cannot provide me with what I wish for my journey to be…✨

Some things simply cannot be fully comprehended.

Nor are they meant to be…

social commentaryStream of Consciousnessnature poetryFree Verse
30

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Cheryl E Preston4 months ago

    Thank you for sharing. This is a great poem. I will be looking for more from you.

  • Diana Penn4 months ago

    I love the part about wanting the star to ‘defy the laws of physics for me’. That’s awesome. Don’t we though - just that - want the impossible, the improbable, or impractical!! Very nice poem. Loved reading it. :)

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Beautifully composed

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    You had me at the title, then lifted my spirits with the content. Well done indeed!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I try to seek a sense of direction rather than destination. I also often fail. Destinations are very alluring.

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    first of all, congratulations on TS status. I absolutely love your poem. Such reality in so few words. Makes me wonder why I still wish upon a star, but then, in a way, it also gives us hope. Your poem is spot on. again, LOVE it.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    What a very uplifting piece of work. I love how you turn physics and logic into art. Well done.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    This was lovely 😍!

  • Test4 months ago

    Amazing job! Keep up the outstanding work—congrats!

  • Julie Edwards 4 months ago

    This is beautiful Annie ❤️

  • This was so magical and optimistic! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.