Poets logo

Sacrificed

For the Many #VocalNPM

By Terowi MarshallPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

What’s the point in being an open book when no one wants to read?

You can’t grow if you rely on others to plant the seed

You can’t help change others when they’re okay with being weeds

Yet they have the mindset that they’ll still end up like trees

But who am I to preach, for I have planted mine without the sunlight it needs

‘Cause I’m too busy watering the weeds

Not making sure my tree has even sprouted; letting myself become uprooted by the weeds

So the weeds will grow vast, and there aren’t any trees

And I forget about my seed because there are so many weeds

Now the land is tarnished, and I’m not brave enough to find new soil

I’m not brave enough to uproot the weeds, so I continue with turmoil

Losing sight of my seed, and now the weeds want to become trees

So I help plant their seeds, and watch them become a forest

While I, myself have become the weed

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Terowi Marshall

Art is life. With each poem I write, there’s a piece of me in every one

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.