Poets logo

Sacrifice and Investment

Cohesive Adaptation

By OneWithPenPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Like

Moonlight devoured the summer solstice when apathy eclipsed the summit of my healing.

Ostensible chaos deprived love of opportunity by proxy of anger.

A servant of resentment followed orders with intentions

of severing connections with his deceitful attesting.

Anger rooted lies in a seed of truth, craftily planted to place vengeance on who would give love a chance to do.

Murderous rebukes altered the tune of any song Love would have me listen to.

Trust I pulled myself at a distance to view it purely as a muse.

What is Maleficent? It's a mask and a cowl.

My tender wounds wrapped in pride were to protect what was left of my demons.

My flesh sought sin, and I was dying.

I was a great pretender, an actor whose indifference rendered

corporeal through unveiled agony and expressive remorse.

Nilhilism encumbered us through the desensitization of stimuli with the compartmentalization of emotions.

Timidity rose when dissociation was inaccessible.

Terrors past created when fear became livid with touch.

Loneliness destroyed a fortress of Hope when its Purpose wasn't well received.

Followed by bodily harm through hedonism and overdrive in seeking physical pain to satiate a void created by my judgment.

I chose pleasure over pain, and now it's Purpose over pleasure.

Although I retain accountability for my actions, I have no reason to seek a history redacted as time moves on.

History has no power to subtract from my present ability to act.

Instead, I choose to do it diligently and calculate the path.

Plan, Act, Iterate, Nuture. I'm moving forward, no longer looking back.

inspirationalsurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

OneWithPen

My imagination, our journey, and this world we call Earth. What shall we make of the time we have left here? Well, with my time I will give you many stories. Read with caution welcome Pen's page; good reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.