Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Remembrance

Light Sparked Decisions

By OneWithPenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

Me: What's a friend? That sounds like a foreign language.

Angel: It's someone close.

Me: The closest thing to me is anguish.

Angel: It's a person.

Me: Is it much like the God you worship?

Angel: He's much different, but the concept is a bond you hold dear.

Me: I hold one with my father, but that's how anguish got here.

Angel: How about someone you love?

Me: That would be my father, although he treats me in the absence of love.

Angel: How about something mutualistic.

Me: The relationship with my demons keeps motivation intrinsic.

Angel: Is there anyone you'd live for?

Me: I'd die for anyone. I just want to see death's door.

Angel: What keeps you alive?

Me: The desire to be a hero the day that I die.

Angel: Where does that desire stem from?

Me: Learning to be a man as a child unloved.

Angel: Do you not believe in the Father?

Me: I'm exempt from salvation.

Angel: Who told you that?

Me: He was gorgeous like you but with horns and a slick tongue.

Angel: Pray with the Father to rebuke him.

Me: Anima vestra, will mine be saved?

Angel: If you decide to come unto the Father today.

Me: Can it wait?

Angel: If you believe you might not die today.

Me: What do you mean?

Angel: Your time started running out the moment you were born. You aren't guaranteed tomorrow, and that's no reason to be forlorn.

It's only when you live without the purpose God has sent for you.

Only a few people make it your age. Are you sure waiting is what you want to choose?

CONTENT WARNINGsad poetryexcerpts
Like

About the Creator

OneWithPen

My imagination, our journey, and this world we call Earth. What shall we make of the time we have left here? Well, with my time I will give you many stories. Read with caution welcome Pen's page; good reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.