Poets logo

Sabbatical

Brainwashed by a cult

By Anna TorresPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sabbatical
Photo by Dane Deaner on Unsplash

A touch of holiness, this is how you break and weigh me down. With a hint of loneliness, my dreams become smaller until they’re buried in the ground. I’ve worshipped at the cult of innocence. These pillars will crumble, they reject and repress. A trophy I cannot possess. The higher I climb, the more I fail and obsess. An altar of worship and fire. They’ve prayed to the false gods and all the liars. Trouble finds me and declares me unfit. My history is destroyed and erased bit by bit. The genie didn’t grant me my wishes. The devil wasn’t a hero, he was just vicious. My prayers never reached the ears of aliens. They never came to earth, they only reached the ceiling. My darkness shines through, into the abyss. Light doesn't exist, this dimension is a mess. Fragile like a doll, fragile like a bomb. Implosion is a goal and now, everything is gone

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.