Poets logo

S^pp0s3d

generally assumed or believed to be the case, but not necessarily so.

By Brenton FPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
6
S^pp0s3d
Photo by Maksym Kaharlytskyi on Unsplash

i was supposed to shut my mouth

but instead i shut my mind

never before had i been so free

so free, but oh so blind

i was supposed to feel it all from within

but i crashed on another distracting trend

i didn’t know where i was for a while

no beginning and then no end

i was supposed to take a breath and pause

i was gonna stop and smell the roses

but i was the only thing this time

that got up any noses

i was supposed to be dead by now

but little parts of me still live

not really sure which bits are which

or how much i’ve left to give

i was supposed to be anywhere but here

yet the elusive alternatives thwart me

i did nearly everything like i was told

and i did it almost like they taught me

i was supposed to be dealing fiction

but i smeared the pages with bits of me

maybe too much all at once?

but it was only then that i could see

surreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Brin J.2 months ago

    This has a similar tone to Timothee Chlamet's line in Prodigal Son. "Everyone talks to me like I'm the one, you know, I should change. Why should I change? I've never even gotten to find out who I am, and you want me to change." He goes on to say more, but this part of his script is what I relate to what your poem. I've always loved this line, and your poem mirrors that sentiment perfectly. <3

  • Smear away my friend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.