Poets logo

Running in the 90's

by Aaron

By Aaron RichmondPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Running in the 90's
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

My fit today is Zubaz pants,

Neon green and orange t-shirt,

Mismatched socks,

Crown of forbidden hair draped upon my shoulders.

*

Effortlessly cool

(By pre-2000's, Post-80's standards),

All the words to "Wonderwall" can fall from my lips,

More than half the chords besides from my fingertips,

Allow me to play it for you?

*

Which effectively makes me a Millennial

Equivalent of a 30-something Gen-X-er

Stuck in the disco era,

Without shred of irony or regret,

Rollerskating through a Community College cafeteria.

*

I understand now.

The hopes of the past

Murdered in cold blood,

Found swinging gently above disrupted chair,

Not quite dead though.

*

I will keep Them alive.

*

Will I ever grow up?

It'd be a whole lot cooler if I didn't.

Because I am alive and well,

Even as Shredder gets his ass-kicked again,

A relic in Zubaz.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Aaron Richmond

Words weave, worlds unfold,

Growth, knowledge, imagination,

Aaron's artistry flows.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Aaron RichmondWritten by Aaron Richmond

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.