Poets logo

Roses Are Red

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

When roses are red, the skies are clear blue, no clouds can be gray.

I don’t know what to do, so I take a deep breath, and attempt to be brave.

When roses are red, the sun comes out, and it shines down on you.

The leaves all turn green, my eyes are dark brown.

Roses are red, violets are blue.

If I’ve loved you once, the odds are that I do still.

I always have, yes, I always will.

I love the taste of pesticides, too bad that they kill.

Give me your heart or I’ll steal it, don’t make me mad again.

I’ll snatch it from your chest with the force like I’m Anakin.

My face has no expression, Happy Valentine’s Day! Will you be my mannequin??

As roses are red, the sun is bright yellow, and the trees have changed colors.

My trembling knees, they feel like jello; butterflies in my stomach, I can feel them start to flutter.

The roses are red, as the stars come out, they assemble above me.

Everyone else thinks “Eww, I just hate myself because nobody loves me.”

Have a nice life, exhale the old and inhale the new.

Roses are red, and violets are blue.

To love and to be loved is to feel the sun from both sides.

All lives would be lifeless if true love should die.

I don’t want a thing I’m not meant to call mine.

Not a day goes by that I don’t wish for my duet.

I am not taken, so I may not wear the jewel yet.

Romeo is gone, now it’s just me, Juliet.

Now roses are red, clothes are all black, and the full-moon’s all white.

Once I cross a bridge, I never look back, I know I’ll be alright.

My roses are red because I burned them for you.

When roses are red, violets are blue.

inspirationallove poemsnature poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.