Poets logo

Rose Coloured Glasses

Alone again

By Satu MyyryPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Party time.

Sitting in my room getting dressed,

My mind feels like it's getting messed,

But I persevere to looking great,

For the birthday of my sweet mate.

Walking into the restaurant I feel,

The looks I get, like I am the third wheel,

I find a chair at the end,

Looking at my beautiful friend.

She is very outgoing and nice,

Being her friend, I wouldn't think twice,

As we dine, with delightful wine,

The party of eighteen begin to seem fine.

The chatter and laughter escalate,

Food and wine, hoping for a date,

The band in the corner starts some tunes,

Wondering now, I should have read my runes,

For they could have given me guidance,

To give my mind a bit of balance.

But as the wine and the party kick in,

I feel a sense of a joyful win,

I sing and dance with everyone,

This is the best ever fun.

But as the night progresses on,

My Rose Coloured Glasses that I don,

Will slowly turn to clear,

An arrow in my heart will spear,

As we disperse into the night,

Say our goodbyes and give our hugs,

I walk home as my heart tugs,

For I have felt that feeling,

Many times, I was sent reeling.

Now Home Alone once again,

I find some wine to sustain,

Put on some music to cut the silence,

So not to notice the human absence.

I dance and drink,

Until I can't think,

I fall asleep on the couch,

Not so comfy, I can vouch.

I see the sun rising,

Wondering if I'm wising,

To the fact that I should change,

My ways I should rearrange.

That way I might find something better,

If I try harder to be a go-getter.

What have I got to lose,

Apart from getting rid of the blues.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Satu Myyry

Hello, I was born in Finland, but now an Australian citizen. I write mostly from my life experiences, and the pictures are mostly my own. I hope you enjoy my work.

Please comment on my stories and poems.

Thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.