Poets logo

"Robinson Crusoe" after reading

Every time I read it again, I have a new experience. I think Robinson always tells me one thing: that is, no matter what fate gives you, you should try your best to create a life.

By xinghanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A few days of leisure time, in a hurry to browse the Robinson Crusoe, not to mention accuracy, let's use the way of notes here for a simple sentiment and review it;

First, it can be used as a masterpiece, after all, there is a reason for it; Several clues can be seen in the book. The author uses several time points to clearly express how devout he is to the religion he believes in. It seems that God redeemed himself, but also faith redeemed himself. At the end of the article, the author shows that he has redeemed others as well as himself. It seems that everything has a certain number, not human can do, but everywhere is reflected in the human can not do.

Whether redeemed or redeemed by others, in a big happy ending, everything is not so important. The author uses a lot of ink to describe the inner struggle of a person in a desert island. Is it to give up or to survive? Is it to be kind or cruel? Is it satisfying the status quo or challenging the unknown? On a deserted island isolated from modern human civilization, everything should follow the heart and nature;

One scene is memorable; Not long after Robinson came to the island, he was out hunting and a ewe was Suckling a lamb. After Robinson killed the ewe, the lamb was still reluctant to follow them, until they walked back to Robinson's tent. At first Robinson wanted to feed the lamb, but the lamb refused to eat, and finally had to kill the lamb.

When I read this, I also thought deeply about how I would deal with such a situation.

If I was in the past, I would definitely be sentimental, but now I know the survival law of nature, I think I will also pain under the killer.

From this point I want to derive the main idea of the whole text, the so-called civilized society and primitive society, the so-called ease and struggle, the so-called survival and life;

Another clip:

"I get teary-eyed all the time. Sometimes I wonder why God destroyed His creation in this way, making it so miserable, so helpless, so abandoned, so utterly depressed that it is hardly reasonable to be thankful for such a life."

"But always something immediately turns to me, censors these thoughts, and rebukes me. In particular, one day, as I was walking by the sea, gun in hand, contemplating the question of my present situation, reason on the other hand advised me, "Yes, you have fallen into isolation, it is true. But remember, what about the rest of you? Weren't there 11 of you on board? What about the ten? Why weren't they saved? Why weren't you killed? Why were you singled out? Is it better to be here or there?" Then I pointed to the sea. Every misfortune has its own blessing, and I should have known it."

Since Robinson began to do the bad good comparison table on the island, he has accepted the fact that he will spend the rest of his life on the island;

He began patiently to build his own castle, his own farm, starting with a few grains of rice. Start by making tools with your bare hands and creating a better living environment for yourself.

For today's relatively impetuous society, occasionally turning over such a book may really lead you back to the origin of survival. After reading this book, in fact, I don't think the significance of every day's work is greater than that of his work in the desert island. Let's really ask ourselves, what value does our work create for ourselves or the society?

If we can't find the answer, are we in our own inner desert island?

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.