Poets logo

Roaming Home

Homecoming

By Guenneth SpeldrongPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Image from Howl's Moving Castle by Studio Ghibli

My home has been

A pile of rag tag bits

Tied together in precarious ways

Always moving

Away from me

Hard to find

~~~

I track it

Like a beast

But it always slips away

As soon as I turn my back,

Comfortable in the fact

That it is there

~~~

Every time

I have to search for it

My home becomes harder to track

~~~

It learns

As I learn

An elusive beast

A white whale

To my Frankenstein’s monster

~~~

I always bring it gifts

Things I find on my journeys

Shiny baubles

Bits of material

Interesting tchotchkes

It accepts them

Happily enough

Until it yearns

For more

~~~

My clever home

~~~

Sometimes

It finds things on

Its own

So I have trouble recognizing it

When I see it again

Howl's Moving Castle Studio Ghibli

It never fools me

For long

~~~

People come and go from it

Always leaving something

They deem useless

And we cherish

~~~

The last person

To stumble upon my home

Stubbornly refuses

To leave

...The poor darling...

He tolerates everything

I throw at him

I rage

and roar

Then regret

Yet he stays

Sometimes even

Shining a light

So I can more easily find

My way

Back home

~~~

It wasn't until

My house began to fly

That I realized

I too

Have wings.

From the Movie UP

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Guenneth Speldrong

Hello there. I write things. Sometimes good things. Mostly, I write to find myself. If I can entertain you in the process, then that's just the derivative icing on the proverbial cake!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.