Poets logo

Rising Above the Fear

I choose to be brave in the face of your presence.

By Victoria VelkovaPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3

Dear Fear,

I know we've been acquainted for a long while,

You've been my constant companion, my trial.

You've shown me the depths of my soul,

The places that are hard to control.

You've kept me from trying and taking a chance,

Making me think that I don't have a chance.

You've held me back from doing what I love,

Making me feel like I'm not enough.

But lately, I've been thinking about you,

And the role you play in all that I do.

I wonder if you're really a friend,

Or if you're just here to make me bend.

I know that you're here to protect me,

But sometimes I think you go too far, you see.

You keep me from things that are good,

And that's not something that I should.

I think it's time for us to have a talk,

And see if we can come to a walk.

I want to work together, you and me,

And see what kind of magic we can be.

I want to try new things and explore,

Without feeling like I'm always at war.

I want to feel free and unafraid,

And not always feel like I have to evade.

So Fear, let's make a pact,

To work together and not react.

Let's take small steps, one at a time,

And see what we can find.

I promise to listen to your voice,

And make choices that are my choice.

But I also promise to take a chance,

And see what happens with a new dance.

Let's be friends and not enemies,

And see what kind of magic we can seize.

I know it won't be easy, it's true,

But I believe we can make it through.

So Fear, let's do this together,

And see what kind of adventure we can gather.

I'm excited to see what we can create,

And to see what kind of path we can make.

Sincerely,

Your New Friend

love poemsinspirational
3

About the Creator

Victoria Velkova

With a passion for words and a love of storytelling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test12 months ago

    Dear Friend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.