Poets logo

Rise and Fall of the Potomac River

Observing the Tides of the Potomac River

By April Denise StuartPublished about a month ago 1 min read
4
Rise and Fall of the Potomac River
Photo by Alex Korolkoff on Unsplash

The Potomac River,

The tide rises,

And it falls,

I wonder what is the cause,

All throughout the basin,

Secure the levee,

And please hasten,

The trees along the shores,

Keep them forever more,

By Zayn Shah on Unsplash

Beautiful addition,

But it leaves me wishing,

That the tides will be lower,

The tides will rise too,

Then what can the river do?

Beautiful river with history,

But with alot of mystery,

The tides are high,

Then they are low,

Never affecting the flow,

I wonder,

Sit and ponder,

The Potomac,

Its tidal basin,

The time spent here,

Is not being wasted,

Walking along the shore,

It is never hard to get bored,

The tides rise and fall,

The river flows for the long haul.

By Gary Lopater on Unsplash

Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this poem please leave a comment.

Thank you.

April Denise Stuart

nature poetryFamily
4

About the Creator

April Denise Stuart

I have been writing for awhile and love to share my writing with others. I enjoy writing about Virginia as well as miscellaneous topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about a month ago

    I just subscribed. I have lots of memories along the Potomac from my years spent living in the D.C./Maryland area. It has seen more than we can imagine. Thanks for taking me back to some of the fonder memories I have:)

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fantastic nature poem!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.