Poets logo

Morning on The Levee

On the Levee for a Morning Walk

By April Denise StuartPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
4
Morning on The Levee
Photo by Denny Müller on Unsplash

As I walk the levee,

The sun rises,

The day has surprises,

The river is large and wide,

I see clearly with open eyes,

Boats pass by,

As my joys rise high,

The day has begun,

I hope it is fun,

The birds sing,

Here comes Spring,

By Arno Smit on Unsplash

The revetments are smooth,

The sun's heat,

We can use,

The beach below,

Has sand all aglow,

We walk in the day,

In the sun's rays,

Water splashes,

Hard and fast,

The sand will last,

We walk down the levee,

My hair messy,

The winds blow hard,

Even walking across the yard,

Looking across the river,

I hope I don't shiver,

Walking on the levee.

By Justin Wilkens on Unsplash

Thank you for reading and please feel free to comment.

nature poetry
4

About the Creator

April Denise Stuart

I have been writing for awhile and love to share my writing with others. I enjoy writing about Virginia as well as miscellaneous topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.