Poets logo

Riptide

Dragged Along

By Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Riptide

8/7/12

One does not need to suffer

To be aided in their art

But why can’t I

Believe that’s true

Whether my greatest or,

My worst, I find

Suffering brings out

The most creative part of me

I stand in time

Not knowing the future

Just the past

And where I am now

I feel this riptide

Pulling me out yet

Forcing me back

Which way?

A force beyond my control

A situation beyond my control

A life that is beyond…

Any control

This is my life

Though it doesn’t feel so

Sometimes, doesn’t feel

Controlled at all

Torn apart, torn to shreds

Falling, yet staying in place

Rising, again, just to fall, again,

Where am I supposed to be?

Deadly, yet things survive

Such is life,

But I want more than to survive

I want to live, to thrive

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Thor Grey (G. Steven Moore)

Since 1991, this compassionate writer has grown through much adversity in life. One day it will culminate on his final day on Earth, but until then, we learn something new every day and we all have something to offer to others as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.