Poets logo

Rigatoni & More

A grocery list for M. Davis

By Kenny PennPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
12
Rigatoni & More
Photo by Angello Pro on Unsplash

July 12, 2023:

1 Box Rigatoni - dry and brittle,

In need of a little -

Moisture

1 lb ground beef - pink and lean,

Delicious protein -

Savory

2 Tomatoes - red and round,

Fresh picked, firm all around -

Plump

1 Red onion - purple and spicy,

Fresh or diced precisely -

Tearful

3 Garlic cloves - wrapped in white,

An aromatic delight -

Perfume

1 Jar spaghetti sauce - blended and sweet,

With herbs and spices, a treat -

Delicious

4 cups cheddar cheese - finely shredded,

Melted gold, flavor embedded -

Gooey

1 Bottle red wine - full bodied taste,

Aged 10 years, for red faced-

Pleasure

1 Small honey jar - nature’s syrup,

Mixed in for tiny chirrups -

Sticky

_____________________

This poem was written for Mackenzie Davis', "I'd read your grocery list challenge, found below. Comments welcome!

performance poetrylist
12

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    MMmmmm gooey cheese! 😋

  • E.K. Daniels6 months ago

    The interplay of what was crossed out versus not was creative—reminded me a bit of ee Cummings in a way. Wonderful!

  • Nicely done.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I love the way youve approached this, it feels like a really holistic picture of a person.

  • Oooo, I really loved what you did here! This was so creative and wonderful!

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Ohh I love the rhyming, the line breaks, the sensory-focus! I feel like I could read this several ways, line by line, every first line (per item), every second line, every third, and get something new out of it. I feel like there is a sensuous component here, a date night (and more) being planned for. Just lovely!

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    That was great, Kenny!! Loved the honey description.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    I like how you crossed things off the list,🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.