Poets logo

Reviving Myself

They thought they won.

By Caterina GreentreePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I had to kill a part of myself

To survive in their world

I had to play the part

At least to the best of my abilities.

They didn’t care it left me dead on the inside

My heart turned grey

Like a rotten prime rib roast

They preferred the dead on the inside version of me

And it has taken years

Of me walking in a haze

I barely made it out in one piece

But somehow I did

So now at 27 years old and

I’m rediscovering my 12 year old self

The version of me that they forced me to change

The Tom boy

Who only like boys as friends

Otherwise they were just plain annoying

The girl who had short hair

And wore boys clothes because they were more comfortable and just felt right

That poor girl

Who has been lost from me for so long

The one who knew exactly who she was

And wasn’t afraid to let anyone know it

The girl who fought for her passions

And did what she wanted without anyone’s approval

How could anyone

Want to hide her

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Caterina Greentree

Just trying to share my life, experiences and ideas with the world to make it a little better!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.