Poets logo

Resurrection

A poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
41
Resurrection
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

I want to be with you in the daylight

When the curtain goes down and the tragedy ends

I want to stand with you in the sunlight

Follow the road wherever it bends

I want to see your eyes shine in the summer

They’re just like stars when they’re all alight

I want to lie with you in the meadow

All day, then you’ll hold me all through the night

I want to know every curve and facet.

Every scar and wrinkle that makes you, you

I want to dance in the dawn I was robbed of

And then maybe you’ll find that you’re dancing, too

I know that we’re both so much more

Than the stories that we happened to live

I want to hold them close, and then let them become

Part of who we are–of what we have to give

I want to walk the same path beside you

Standing tall and proud in the dawn

I want you to know that the person I love

Is the person that you’ve been all along

love poems
41

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 10 months ago

    This really activated my imagination. So sweet

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    GREAT WORK!!!

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    Deliver this to the person for whom it was meant. 👍 Poignant and yearning… Hope for a tandem future entwined within these lines. Nicely done.

  • Donnalisa Madrigal11 months ago

    You got me. Heart touched, check. About to cry, check. Uh, I want all that too, double check. 🤘🏼😆

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    I love this style, it’s so easy to set it to music in my head! Beautifully written ❤️

  • Lena Folkert11 months ago

    This is so beautifully written and so full of soul! Beautiful! Congrats on the well deserved TS! Subscribed! :)

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    So incredibly touching and beautifully penned. Those last lines were everything :) Congratulations on Top Story!

  • ARC11 months ago

    "I want you to know that the person I love Is the person that you’ve been all along" YEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSS!!! God this is so good, Joelle. Start-to-finish this piece is absolute majesty... and then this final couplet... A soaring and a magnetism somehow combined in one. Outstanding work 👏 Thank you for sharing this piece with us and Congrats on a worthy TS! 💙

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Congrats dear Joelle, this was well deserved.

  • MT Poetry11 months ago

    This is beautifully expressed their desire to be with their loved ones. Great Poet💕🥰

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story! Not surprised at all. This is just blooming marvellous!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Nostalgia abounds in every word of this poem. Heart and soul find new wings to fly. This is really lovely and I totally adore it.

  • Harmony Kent11 months ago

    I adore this poem so much, Joelle. Beautiful lines and so heartfelt 💕🙂

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Such a beautiful poem! Particularly love these lines: “I want to know every curve and facet. Every scar and wrinkle that makes you,” To WANT to know the scars– that’s where really beautiful healing and intimacy can arise. 💞 Gorgeous work, Joelle!

  • Awww, this was so lovely and wonderful!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Yesss. This is so pretty. I love. ❤️

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    This was beautiful verse!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Stunning! Just stunning...so pretty!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.