Poets logo

Resurrection

A Poem About Perseverence And Strength

By C.S. RosingPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

On bended knees, I bow my head

My hands holding the ground beneath

In an attempt to slow

My tipping and spinning existence

The floor is cold and wet with my lamentations

As an offering to whoever may be there to hear

Every night I take this position

As the sun sinks and the atmosphere cools

There is a secret sanctuary waiting for me

In the safety of arms, I cannot see

Yet I know they are there

I sense them in the air

As I feel the moisture of my tears

Raise evaporating into the ether

Above the dense moisture that surrounds me

Until all that is left is pure, crisp coolness

That flows through my nose and into my lungs

Where it ignites to light a path for itself inside me

It guides its own way

Illuminating the areas covered by darkness

I feel its warmth as it moves

Through those barricaded long forbidden and forgotten fortresses of my soul

Somehow it knows the way without me telling it where to go

Unlocking troves and treasures only it knew were still there

Years passed in a blink of an eye and

Resurrected I lie in wonder

Of where that feeble body and mind were taken

For it seems to only echo hazy remnants of a dream

Belonging to another not mine

Lifted from the ashes

I know I am meant to rise

The only question I am left with now is

How high?

inspirational
2

About the Creator

C.S. Rosing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.