Poets logo

Dear Daughter

You Are Meant For More

By C.S. RosingPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

Dear Daughter,

You, with your auburn curls set afire by the sun’s light. You, with the crooked smile that fills my heart with delight. Before you were here, I said a prayer and offered it up to God. In my heart, I held an image of you dancing beneath the trees. Throwing confetti into the air as if life was one big party. The sun followed wherever you went. You reveled on earth as in heaven. With a grateful light heart, you played. Any dark cloud that approached you casually waved away. You went right along humming a tune and skipping without a care. You wished on dandelions as the wind blew through your hair. You knew no doubt. To uncertainty you were blind. Your eyes glittered like starlight. Your heart shined with the divine. You were brave and confident. On angels wings, you would fly. Protected from all because you were God’s child long before you were mine.

So, I look at you now and can’t help be astounded because I know all I wished for came true. You are the prayer I prayed for. Proof that miracles come true. You are fearless, strong, and determined. You are beautiful and bold. You are wild at heart but full of compassion. You are fueled with imagination. Sometimes you are out of control. But I remind myself that is only because you hold such a remarkable power. An unwavering spirit that can light up the night. A force to be reckoned. A delicate rose? No, you, my dear, are an invincible wildflower. Everyone that meets you is captivated. They can tell that you are different. But little do they know of your true magic or why your pull is so magnetic. Little do they know of what lies before their eyes. Little do they know. They’re soon to be surprised. Because the future I have seen for you just as I saw you before. And it, my child, is a grand plan. Know that you are meant for more.

You are meant for more than what you see. You are meant for more than you can imagine. You are meant to rise above every single life’s challenge. You cannot be defeated. You are resilient to your core. I want you to always remember love, that you are meant for more.

I’ll love you till the day I die. I’ll love you even after. I love you more than you’ll ever know. Through the pain as much as the laughter.

I’ll love you, love, forever. To infinity and beyond. To the moon and back. Through joy and strife. I’ll be by your side, all the days I’m alive.

Love,

Your mother who dreamed you to life

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

C.S. Rosing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.